Guar gum is an ingredient used in different products, from coconut milk, almond milk, yogurts to body lotions.
What is the role of it and how does it affect these products?
Coconut Milk Without Guar Gum Products
These are two big questions that come up when speaking of such an ingredient.
Guar gum may not be indicated for people who have allergies, especially soy allergies. In this case, ‘pure’ products such as coconut milk without guar gum are a great alternative.
These food products usually do not contain additives, just the raw ingredients. They are a more natural version and can be a healthier alternative.
It’s like choosing eco-friendly hangers instead of plastic ones to take care of the environment.
Going for such a product can have certain benefits for you.
Coconut milk without guar gum benefits
Great alternative for allergic people
Guar gum can be an allergen for those with soy allergies.
A few allergic reactions that guar gum may cause are breathing problems, asthma, itchiness, and diarrhea.
Products like coconut milk without guar gum are a great alternative for allergic people. They can enjoy their delicious taste without worrying about potential side effects.
An excellent treat for your health
Coconut milk is rich in nutrients, vitamins, and healthy fats. All of these contribute to a healthy diet and a balanced lifestyle.
Coconut milk is loaded with:
- lauric acid
All these nutrients make coconut milk without guar gum ideal for maintaining a healthy heart, lowering cholesterol levels, controlling diabetes, and preventing anemia.
If you’re interested in finding out more about coconut milk, check out BPA free canned coconut milk.
Wonderful milk alternative for vegans and vegetarians
If you’re a vegan or a vegetarian, coconut milk without guar gum can be a wonderful product to try.
It’s healthy, dairy, lactose, and soy free.
You can simply drink it or add it to different food recipes.
Everything you need to know about guar gum
What is guar gum?
Guar gum is a fiber obtained from the seeds of the guar plant.
It’s mostly used in the food industry as a thickening, stabilizing, suspending, and binding agent.
It is a popular thickening agent, as it can hold great amounts of water. Compared to cornstarch, guar gum can hold eight times more water.
Also, it is as efficient as highly processed thickening agents like carrageenan. This ingredient is extracted from red edible seaweeds. The problem with it is that it can cause inflammation, ulcerations, and bleeding.
Guar gum is considered a safer and more natural alternative.
Benefits of using guar gum
Guar gum has several benefits when being used in the food production industry and for personal use.
Besides being a more natural alternative for thickening agents, guar gum can prevent ingredients from separating. Take fats and oils for example. It can be really helpful for maintaining their homogenous texture.
Guar gum is commonly found in:
- dairy products (yogurt, ice cream)
- food dressings
- plant-based milk
- personal care products (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, toothpaste)
- medications and supplements
Because it can absorb so much water, guar gum can make you feel full faster. You may eat less and still get a feeling of satiety.
Guar gum may also normalize your cholesterol levels and slow down glucose absorptions.
If you have the irritable bowel syndrome, taking guar gum may help you. It may relieve constipation, reduce diarrhea and stomach pain, overall improving the function of your bowel and digestive system.
Health concerns related to guar gum
There have been certain health concerns related to guar gum.
It’s considered an allergen and can cause heavy breathing, irritations, flushing, and asthma. Also, people who work in certain industries and are highly exposed to guar beans may develop great allergic sensitivity to guar gum.
If you have problems with allergies, learn more about the hypoallergenic vacuum cleaner.
Guar gum needs to be taken small doses. High doses can cause pulmonary embolism, constipation, and bowel obstruction.